Dear mothers, He cares for you

IMG_2393

The words of David in Psalm 22:9-10 have taken on new meaning for me since becoming a mother. He writes, “Yet you [God] are he who took me from the womb; you made me trust you at my mother’s breasts. On you was I cast from my birth, and from my mother’s womb you have been my God.”

I want David’s testimony to be my daughter’s. My husband Josh and I pray that she would understand and believe the good news of Jesus Christ at an early age. I’ve written these desires in my Bible, in the margin at the right of Psalm 22. I’ve prayed these words over Eleanor.

Today however the Holy Spirit shifted my focus from David’s confession to the mother in these verses. David’s mother–in faithfulness to the calling of God on her life–birthed David, nursed him, and (here’s what leapt off the page) cast him on the Lord. The word cast first stood out to me because it is such a forceful word, meaning “to throw or hurl, to fling.” Then “cast” spurred me to think of 1 Peter 5:6-7: “Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.”

Are you really casting the cares of motherhood on me? The question (I believe from the Lord) flashed in my mind. The honest answer is no, not habitually as I should be.

I felt like God made a connection between this question and another I have recently been wrestling with: “What is the pain or discomfort that I am running from and toward food?” The answer in the last year seems myriad, but one part is the difficulties of motherhood: the exhaustion; the stress of Eleanor fighting sleep or fighting a cold; the loss of independence and freedom to go and do as I once could; the strain of parenting on my marriage–to name a few.

Jesus redeems all our trials and uses them to conform us to His image and rid us of joy-destroying sin and selfishness. This process of sanctification is ongoing, and, at times, it hurts. I have to embrace the pain of suffering for righteousness’ sake, when it comes, or I’ll never be rid of the havoc sin wreaks in me and around me. Sadly, when I try to numb the pain of life instead of turning to God, I become more entangled in sin, forget the righteousness I have in my Savior, and feel distant from my Father God, who is sinless.

From the experiences of other mothers, I glean that motherhood will always be a challenge; loving my daughter will break my heart at times; serving her will drain me and humble me. (These truths are equally beautiful and painful.) Too often, when I am feeling tired or stressed or disillusioned, I tear into a bar of chocolate, have more snacks than I should, or reach for a second helping of food even though I’m already full. What if I turned to God instead; what if I looked into his face and cast my cares on him in prayer? What if I let his Word speak to my anxiety? What if I rested, knowing that he is in control? How abundant my life would be! It’s already abundant actually–but how I could more fully taste and see that he is good!

What if you turned to God; what if you looked into his face and cast your cares on him in prayer? What if you let his Word speak to your anxiety? What if you rested, knowing that he is in control? How abundant your life would be! It’s already abundant actually–but how you could more fully taste and see that he is good!

4 thoughts on “Dear mothers, He cares for you

  1. Awesome thoughts, Lizzie! I’m so glad you got a chance to write again! 🙂 You’re right, I don’t cast my cares on God anywhere near enough. I’ll think of your post, though, and remember to more frequently, I bet.

    Love you so much!
    Ruth

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Lizzie,
    When I read your posts I always feel like I am listening to your prayers. In a way, I guess I am.
    You wrote, “I try to numb the pain of life instead of turning to God, I become more entangled in sin, forget the righteousness I have in my Savior, and feel distant from my Father God, who is sinless.” I was reminded of Psalm 32, which tells us that confessing our sins to God brings us forgiveness, and the sadness of guilt goes away.

    Oh, what joy for those whose disobedience is forgiven, whose sin is put out of sight!
    Yes, what joy for those whose record the Lord has cleared of guilt, whose lives are lived in complete honesty!
    When I refused to confess my sin, my body wasted away, and I groaned all day long.
    Day and night your hand of discipline was heavy on me. My strength evaporated like water in the summer heat.

    Finally, I confessed all my sins to you and stopped trying to hide my guilt.
    I said to myself, “I will confess my rebellion to the Lord.” And you forgave me! All my guilt is gone.

    Like

    1. Dear Uncle Rob,

      Thank you for reminding me of Psalm 32! The precious words are life to me.

      I’m broken-hearted to hear about Lucy and Chris’ home and at the same time unspeakably grateful that all were spared and that you all have each other to hold through the rebuilding process! You are in my prayers!

      Thank you again for taking the time to read and comment on my post. I love you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

