Bring me out

DSCF0518

The pace of Saturday mornings around our house is usually a putter, but with Josh out to breakfast with a buddy, and Eleanor sleeping late, I poured my coffee purposefully and sat myself down in my favorite chair to read the Bible and journal.

January 10, 2015

Two passages in today’s reading stood out to me. The Holy Spirit connected these verses to my life, and the prayer below was born out of that connection.

“As morning dawned, the angels urged Lot, saying, ‘Up! Take your wife and your two daughters who are here, lest you be swept away in the punishment of this city.’ But he lingered. So the men seized him and his wife and his two daughters by the hand, the Lord being merciful to him, and they brought him out and set him outside the city.” Genesis 19:15-16

“Then God said to him in the dream, ‘Yes, I know that you have done this in the integrity of your heart, and it was I who kept you from sinning against me. Therefore I did not let you touch her.'” Genesis 20:6

Heavenly Father,

When I linger in a place destined for destruction, seize me and bring me out in your mercy (Genesis 19:16). Jesus, you came “to destroy the works of the devil” (1 John 3:8). You will ultimately destroy the wicked and wickedness. All sin will be destroyed; therefore, save me from habitual sin. Do no let me make sinning a pattern of my life; save me from returning to these places that you are destroying and that bring destruction in my life. Seize me out of these sins in your mercy.

When I am about to sin in ignorance, keep me from sinning (Genesis 20:6). Remind me of your Word; convict me. Sin so often begets sin. Expose the sin in my life that I am blind to, so that I can stop sinning in that way.

In Jesus’ name I pray.

Photo Credit: http://www.austin-simmons.com/
Photo Credit: http://www.austin-simmons.com/

2 thoughts on “Bring me out

Leave a Reply

