Bright and pure

Josh&Lizzie_Web 1286

Hi friends! And hello 2015! I’m excited to get back to waking early and writing now that the holidays are over. My husband Josh had from Christmas Eve Day to January 4th off, and I cherished his kind companionship and presence in our home more than I can express. His parents also visited us, bravely staying in our guest room which shares a wall with Ellie’s room–as you know if you’ve read a few of my posts, she still wakes up crying in the night. We all enjoyed every minute of that week’s time together. While my in-laws were in town, I wrote only one blog post. I share it below. May God strengthen you today to say, “Yes,” to everything that brings you closer to Him and, “No,” to anything that draws you away from Him.

December 29, 2014

The day’s Bible selections are Zechariah 6-9, Psalm 148, and Revelation 18-20.

Although wide-eyed at 5:17 a.m. because of a bad dream, I’m blurry-eyed now at 7:18, but, doubting that I’d be able to fall back asleep, I’ve decided to post.

My sweet daughter and husband along with my dear in-laws, who are visiting, are still sleeping.

Today is a special day: we will celebrate Eleanor’s first year of life. (Her actual birthday is Friday, January 2nd.)

“Then I heard what seemed to be the voice of a great multitude, like the roar of many waters and like the sound of mighty peals of thunder, crying out, ‘Hallelujah! For the Lord our God the Almighty reigns. Let us rejoice and exult and give him the glory, for the marriage of the Lamb has come, and his Bride has made herself ready; it was granted her to clothe herself with fine linen bright and pure’–for the fine linen is the righteous deeds of the saints.” Revelation 19:6-8

The paradox of these bolded lines caught my eye. At the second coming of Jesus Christ, the Bride of Christ (the Church) has “made herself ready,” and yet her ability to clothe herself in fine linen “was granted her.” I, along with my brothers and sisters in Jesus Christ, are clothed by God “with the garments of salvation” (Isaiah 61:10), but I am to “put on the Lord Jesus Christ” (Romans 13:14) and walk as He did, in willing, joyful, complete obedience to God. The Holy Spirit is at work in my life, renewing my mind with the Word of God and speaking to my heart, but I must apply His Word to each situation I face in life; I must obey His still small voice. Each time I say, “Yes,” in my heart to a prompting or command of God, I prepare for the “Yes” I will say as one of the Bride of Christ (the Church) when I meet the Lamb (Jesus) on our wedding day (His second coming).

Leave a Reply

