Devotional thoughts through December: Day 6

Ellie_swing

Getting out of bed was really hard today. I woke up feeling discouraged and overwhelmed (so much to do…so little time…what do I do first?…what if I can’t get to such and such?…). These feelings are predictable in a way, considering the demands of the holiday season and the season of motherhood I am in, but I think I am heavy-hearted for another reason: I am wrestling with what I have read the past couple of days in Psalms, Hosea, and 1 Peter.

Hebrews 4:12 tells us that God’s Word is “living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing […].” It performs surgery on our souls. It convicts us of sin. It opens our eyes to the moral corruption in us and around us. God’s Word makes us face reality–the realities of suffering and of evil–realities that I naturally want to keep from invading my little world: my quiet home where I mother and work. Even though it sometimes hurts to let God near my heart, I don’t want to push Him away. “…[H]e disciplines us for our good, that we may share his holiness” (Hebrews 12:10).

Below is the devotional thought I wrote yesterday morning but hesitated to post.

Yesterday’s Bible selections were Psalm 137, Hosea 6-9, and 1 Peter 3-5.

December 17, 2014

While today’s Bible selections are unsettling, graphic, and heavy, they also magnify the singular hope of the world–Jesus Christ–and the unmatched beauty of the good news of His incarnation, crucifixion, resurrection, and glorification.

I feel completely intimidated and unqualified to tackle the difficult themes of these chapters–God’s vengeance, His punishment and judgment, suffering of both the believer and the unbeliever, to name a few. Furthermore, a short blog post can only scratch the surface of such hugely important yet uncomfortable and controversial topics. Yet, I must allow myself to grapple today with these harder Biblical truths.

Thank you Lord for your Word. Thank you for the unsettling, uncomfortable, difficult parts. Give me the mind of Christ to know you more and not shrink back from the revelation you give of yourself in your Word. I am in awe of you, because you, a holy God with a hatred for sin, sent your perfect and precious Son to the earth to “[suffer] once for sins, the righteous for the unrighteous, that he might bring us to [you]” (1 Peter 3:18a).

One thought on “Devotional thoughts through December: Day 6

  1. I feel you on this! It’s hard for me to think of God’s judgement on unbelievers and think of how I won’t be judged. It makes me extremely grateful, but at the same time it makes me wonder why God didn’t save everyone. Your dad, I think, did a sermon a while back that talked about God’s judgement and it really made me understand why God is so holy for His judgement.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

