Devotional thoughts through December: Day 5

Photo credit: http://www.alexasphotography.com/
Photo credit: http://www.alexasphotography.com/

After two days of my daughter Eleanor waking up around 6 a.m., I am back at my computer, excited to write in the quiet minutes before she stirs, stretches, and proudly pulls herself up to stand using the side of her crib. Before she calls to me over the monitor with a cry that is urgent but not distressed. Before, as I open her bedroom door, she smiles up at me from behind her paci, her blue eyes shining through her unkempt bangs which, when not pinned back by a barrette, fall in her face. Before she needs me–my love, my arms, my nourishment, my creativity, my energy, my smile, my kisses, my voice–I read God’s Word, because I’m a daughter too, a daughter who needs my Father.

Today’s Bible selections are Psalm 136, Hosea 2-5, and 1 Peter 1 and 2.

December 16, 2014

The author of Psalm 136 begins and ends his worship of God by encouraging God’s people to give thanks to God; however the psalmist not only records reasons for such thanksgiving but also gives insight into who God is.

Throughout Psalm 136, the refrain “for his steadfast love endures forever” punctuates specific acts of God. As I read, I found myself translating these acts into broader dispositions and actions of God in relation to His people and His world. Creating such a list definitely inspired worship of God in my own heart, and I hope reading my list below will do the same for you!

Give thanks to God for His goodness, for His incomparable power, for His creation of the world, for His rule over nature, for His wrath towards His enemies, for His deliverance, for His provision, for His generosity, for His compassion, and most of all for His eternal, unchanging love for His people in Jesus Christ.

“Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.” 1 Peter 2:10

Leave a Reply

