For the desperate: A prayer template from Daniel

IMG_1737

My precious daughter is napping, providing me a window to write. Again I was up with her throughout the night. My husband Josh, returning from early morning PT with his Army reserve unit, was my alarm clock at 7:45 a.m. I only had time to read God’s Word before Eleanor woke up.

Today’s Bible selections are Daniel 8 and 9, Psalm 133, and Hebrews 12 and 13.

December 13, 2014

Of all that I could share with you today (the above chapters are rich with encouragements and truths), I feel prompted to transcribe a prayer of the prophet Daniel found in Daniel 9. I find it helpful to use prayers of mighty men and women in the Bible as templates for my own prayers, especially when I am at a loss for words.

If you are feeling desperate for God’s intervention in a situation in your life or in the lives of people you love but don’t know how to pray, consider making Daniel’s prayer your own. God bless you, my friend!

Daniel’s Prayer

“O my God, incline your ear and hear. Open your eyes and see our desolations and the city that is called by your name. For we do not present our pleas before you because of our righteousness, but because of your great mercy. O Lord, hear; O Lord, forgive. O Lord, pay attention and act. Delay not, for your own sake, O my God, because your city and your people are called by your name.” Daniel 9:18-19

Daniel’s Prayer as a template for your prayer

O my God, incline your ear and hear. Open your eyes and see [insert a personal trial] and [insert a person’s name, a family, a church, etc.] [who] is called by your name. For [I] do not present [my] pleas before you because of [my] righteousness, but because of your great mercy. O Lord, hear; O Lord, forgive. O Lord, pay attention and act. Delay not, for your own sake, O my God, because [insert a person’s name, a family, a church, etc.] [is] called by your name.

One thought on “For the desperate: A prayer template from Daniel

Leave a Reply

