Devotional thoughts through December: Day 2

Family_photo_shoot_2014_EllieDadsunlight
Photo Credit: http://www.alexasphotography.com/

7:14, ready, set, write.

I awoke an hour ago–made our bed (my husband Josh had already left for work), made coffee, and made a beeline to my reading chair in the living room. Today’s Bible reading selections are Daniel 4 and 5, Psalm 131, and Hebrews 10.

December 11, 2014

I’m excited to be with you Lord even though I’m not sure how long I have until Eleanor wakes.

“…I have calmed and quieted my soul” Psalm 131:2a.

“Now I, Nebuchadnezzar, praise and extol and honor the King of heaven, for all his works are right and his ways are just; and those who walk in pride he is able to humble.” Daniel 4:37

Presumption can mark my days–the belief that I don’t need God; “I’ve got this”–until things don’t go as planned, and then I blame God. All pride. And pride blinds me–blinds me to my internal brokenness and keeps me from JOY, joy in God. So it’s good news that God is “able to humble” those who walk in pride. Acting out of His amazing mercy, He does this: He pursues and disciplines me when I spurn Him.

The best news in the world–truly–is that God can draw anyone to Himself through His Son’s “single sacrifice for sins” (Hebrews 10:12).

“It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God.” Hebrews 10:30

BUT for those who are in Jesus Christ, the “living God” is Father and to fall into His arms is a wonderful thing. God embraces and delights in me His daughter, forgiven of my sins and adopted into His eternal family.

(The delight of my husband in our daughter captured in the picture above is a glimpse into God’s delight in His children. Wow!)

2 thoughts on “Devotional thoughts through December: Day 2

  1. I must be awfully prideful, because God is forever having to remind me of my place.
    When the reminder is not so gentle, I am drawn to the refrain from Norah Jones’ song “Humble Me”:
    “You humble me lord, humble me lord, I’m on my knees, empty.
    You humble me lord, you humble me lord, so please please please forgive me”.
    I have had to pray that prayer a lot!
    Do you know that “on my knees empty” feeling?
    I wonder if everyone experiences it, or if it is reserved for those of us who are especially prideful!
    Thanks for the reminder to try to stay humble, and to remember that I cannot do this on my own.

    Like

Leave a Reply

