Devotional thoughts through December: Day 1

Family_photo_shoot_2014_Elliegazingup

6:15, 6:25, 6:35: my 3 alarms for the morning. I roused at 6:12 to the sound of my 11-month-old daughter Eleanor stirring in her sleep. After stumbling to the bathroom, I stumbled to the coffeemaker, and while that amazing device did its work, I started to unload the dishwasher. At 6:35 Eleanor cried out over the video monitor. I could see that she was sitting up in her crib, but her eyes were closed. I slipped into her room and was able to nurse her back to sleep. Afterward I poured myself a cup of coffee and began to read God’s Word.

My husband Josh and I are excited to read through the Bible in a year again, starting next year, but since I finished my personal study of 1 and 2 Corinthians two weeks ago, I have been adrift a bit in my devotional reading; so today, I decided to start preparing for next year by reading the 3 selections for December 10th: Daniel 2-3, Psalm 130, and Hebrews 9.

In an effort to consistently post, I am committing today to spend 20ish minutes writing each morning to share with you any thoughts I had during my time reading God’s Word. Perfectionism has halted my writing the last few months. Consequently, I’m making myself and you a promise (by grace): 20ish minutes of writing and then comes a post. The goal is crazy ambitious for me since I work and write slowly and belabor over my work. Anything I have published in the past has been revised many times and is the product of hours of work. I know I’ll write that way again in the future, but for now, I’m abandoning that process for the purpose of fueling productivity and impact. I pray that you are encouraged by these devotional thoughts from my journal through the end of December even though they may not be my “best” work.

December 10, 2014

“I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I hope;” Psalm 130:5–exactly how I feel right now. Waiting for what? I’m not sure, but all I know is I must get back to the basics. For starters, being in God’s Word in the quiet, before Eleanor wakes up.

“so Christ, having been offered once to bear the sins of many, will appear a second time, not to deal with sin but to save those who are eagerly waiting for him.” Hebrews 9:28

Ultimately, I’m waiting for the return of Christ. Help me to remember Lord that the time of waiting should be used for getting ready.

3 thoughts on “Devotional thoughts through December: Day 1

Leave a Reply

